thingNY presents: SPAM v. 1.2

Date: April 18, 2010
Time: 6:00 pm
Sun. Apr. 18, 2010
thingNY presents:
SPAM (v. 1.2)
an e-submission mass-commission

The Tank
@ the 54th Street Theatre
354 W 45th St.
New York, NY


Back by popular demand, thingNY will boldly state that it has created the largest commission of experimental music in the history of email-submitted spam. Hundreds of new works, words and images from all over the globe, including composers, performers, artists, peers, the Bloomberg administration, subordinates, ordinates, our moms, automated responses, vacation replies and perhaps one or two threats.

Featuring contributions from Jude Traxler, Heber Schuenemann, David Finlay, Eli Stine, Juliana Steele, Kyle Gann, Marina Rosenfeld, Scott Wollschleger, Sally J. Williams, Kathleen Supové , Moritz Eggert, Daniel Goode, Luciano Azzigotti, Greg Kirkelie, Erin Carr, Joe Kneer, Joseph Nechvatal, Mary Jennings, Brian McCorkle, Paula Diehl, Johnny Kira, Pall Ivan Palsson, Michael Cooper, Emily Koh, Terence Zahner, Joshua Kopecek, William Brittelle, Christian Gentry, Gabrielle Gamberini, Aaron Feinstein, Douglas DaSilva, Greg Pfieffer, Brad Baumgardner, Dave Golbert, Paul Burnell, Jim Legge, David Morneau, Andrea La Rose, Holly Eve Gerard, Gary A. Edwards, Matthew Reid, Gail Noor, Jonah Bloch-Johnson, Tania Leon, Alexandra Fol, Lucy Koteen, Luca Vanneschi, Sarah Prusoff, Ilias Pantoleon, Luis Menacho, David Simons, David Snow, David Drexler, Mike von der Nahmer, Martha Mooke, Art Jarvinen, David Wolfson, Neil Lyndon, Piotr Grella-Mozejko, David Broome, Matt Malsky, Linda Joe, The Bloomberg Office, David Drexler, Nate Trier, Greg A Steinke, Mats Eden, Mort Stine, Yianni Naslas, Jane Stuppin, Jessica Quinones, David Snow, Mark Stephen Brooks, Christopher Fulkerson, Ryan Muncy, Barry Seroff, Emanuel Ayvas, Stephanie Miller, John Oliver, Beth Tambor, Pauline Oliveros, Michael Gordon, Adam Reifsteck, Janet Maguire, Jiri Kaderabek, Marilyn Shrude, Joe Hallman, Mimi Kim, Doug Yule, Paul Pinto, Tom Lopez, Andrew Griffin, Gene Pritsker, Winnie Sunshine, Sima Shamsi, Wally Gunn, Carl Danielsen and Mike Hanf.

The New Yorker’s Alex Ross listed thingNY as part of the city’s burgeoning avant-garde classical music scene “striking an attitude of resistance to mainstream culture.” Comprised of composer-performers from the NYC metro area, thingNY revels in creating and performing unrelenting experimental new works with passion and enthusiasm, oscillating between the “sweeter sounds” and the “punishingly loud.” Since its first performance in October 2006, thingNY has produced four seasons of experimental music including a radio play by Beckett, a collaboratively-created opera and over a hundred premieres.

thingNY is:
Alejandro Acierto, clarinets
Gelsey Bell, soprano
Isabel Castellvi, cello
Paul Pinto, percussion
Erin Rogers, saxophone
Jeffrey Young, violin

If you don’t believe us, check out http://www.thingNY.comSPAMflyer2

Posted on January 10, 2010 by erin

Leave a reply