CODE performs “Shimmering Dust”

Date: May 24, 2022
Time: 7:00 pm
The Columbus Ohio Discovery Ensemble (CODE) will perform an engaging and fun collection of pieces by composers who are from Ohio or who studied in Ohio, including my “Shimmering Dust” (2015) for flute and cymbal. This concert is presented by The Johnstone Fund for New Music.
Tuesday, May 24, 7pm
1187 N High St
Columbus, OH 43201
Erin Helgeson Torres, flute
Justin Johnston, clarinet
Michael Rene Torres, saxophone
Alicia Hui, violin
Pei-An Chao, cello
Joe Krygier, percussion
Mariko Kaneda, piano
“Acoustic Field” by Chin Ting Chan
“Shimmering Dust” by Erin Rogers
“Notturno: In Memoriam” by Marilyn Shrude
“Shadowing” by HyeKyung Lee
“we quiver, drowning in our breath” by Rob McClure (world premiere)
This program explores unique and exciting sonic terrain. Chin Ting Chan’s “Acoustic Field” creates a compelling sound world through dense and complex chord structures that celebrates the upper partials of the harmonic series. “Shimmering Dust” by Rogers for flute and cymbal explores “the sonic relationship between air and metal. The title evokes a visual image of…air in its human form – breathed, blown, whispered, sung – and metal acted upon by an element – air, flesh, hair, metal, rubber, plastic.” HyeKyung Lee’s “Shadowing” for clarinet and saxophone has the musicians “follow each other, sometimes honestly, diligently, and sometimes hesitantly, and in disguise.” Marilyn Shrude’s beautiful “Notturno” for flute, saxophone, and piano was written in memory of Japanese composer, Toru Takemitsu. The world premiere of “we quiver, drowning in our breath” by Ohio University composition faculty Rob McClure, is described by the composer as “a statement on our ever-warming climate and our central role in this process.”
CODE is a new music ensemble in Central Ohio that is dedicated to the promotion, performance, and perception of contemporary concert music with a special interest in collaborating with Ohio composers and performing artists.
Admission is free. Recommended for ages 9 and older. Parking assistance is available through the ParkColumbus app.

This performance is part of the free “New Music at Short North Stage” concert series.

The Johnstone Fund for New Music was founded by Columbus community leaders Jack and Zoe Johnstone in 2008. It supports the continuing growth and vitality of contemporary classical music by funding the creation and performance of new works for a growing audience in Central Ohio.
Posted on May 25, 2022 by erin

Leave a reply