Alvin Lucier Memorial – Issue Project Room/LIVESTREAM

Date: June 19, 2022
Time: 2:00 pm
Presented by Issue Project Room

Sunday, June 19th – 2pm ET, The Stokes-Lucier family and ISSUE Project Room will host a memorial for the late Alvin Lucier (May 14th, 1931 – Dec. 1st, 2021), revolutionary American composer and beloved pioneer of experimental music. ISSUE will be publicly livestreaming the full memorial online with speeches from Alvin’s family and friends including Wendy Stokes & Amanda LucierDavid BehrmanSusan Foster, and James Fei as well as performances of his work from Charles Curtis and the Ever Present Orchestra including VespersThree Cardboard Boxes, an archival presentation of I am sitting in a room, and more. The in-person memorial is by invitation of the family only.

More info & livestream link HERE

June 18, 2022

How Deep Is Your Love // Nief-Norf Summer Festival – Knoxville, TN

Date: June 18, 2022
Time: 3:00 pm

Nief-Norf Summer Festival performs my piece: How Deep Is Your Love for 3 players who can do anything if they try hard enough. Join us!

Saturday, June 18, 2022
Nief-Norf Summer Festival
Natalie L. Haslam Center for the Arts
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN

May 30, 2022

Downtown Music Gallery w/ Jessica Ackerley & Henry Mermer

Date: May 31, 2022
Time: 6:30 pm

Tuesday, May 31st:
7:30: DARREN JOHNSTON / CHES SMITH – Trumpet / Percussion

Downtown Music Gallery
13 Monroe St
New York, NY 10002


May 9, 2022

CODE performs “Shimmering Dust”

Date: May 24, 2022
Time: 7:00 pm
The Columbus Ohio Discovery Ensemble (CODE) will perform an engaging and fun collection of pieces by composers who are from Ohio or who studied in Ohio, including my “Shimmering Dust” (2015) for flute and cymbal. This concert is presented by The Johnstone Fund for New Music.
Tuesday, May 24, 7pm
1187 N High St
Columbus, OH 43201
Erin Helgeson Torres, flute
Justin Johnston, clarinet
Michael Rene Torres, saxophone
Alicia Hui, violin
Pei-An Chao, cello
Joe Krygier, percussion
Mariko Kaneda, piano
“Acoustic Field” by Chin Ting Chan
“Shimmering Dust” by Erin Rogers
“Notturno: In Memoriam” by Marilyn Shrude
“Shadowing” by HyeKyung Lee
“we quiver, drowning in our breath” by Rob McClure (world premiere)
This program explores unique and exciting sonic terrain. Chin Ting Chan’s “Acoustic Field” creates a compelling sound world through dense and complex chord structures that celebrates the upper partials of the harmonic series. “Shimmering Dust” by Rogers for flute and cymbal explores “the sonic relationship between air and metal. The title evokes a visual image of…air in its human form – breathed, blown, whispered, sung – and metal acted upon by an element – air, flesh, hair, metal, rubber, plastic.” HyeKyung Lee’s “Shadowing” for clarinet and saxophone has the musicians “follow each other, sometimes honestly, diligently, and sometimes hesitantly, and in disguise.” Marilyn Shrude’s beautiful “Notturno” for flute, saxophone, and piano was written in memory of Japanese composer, Toru Takemitsu. The world premiere of “we quiver, drowning in our breath” by Ohio University composition faculty Rob McClure, is described by the composer as “a statement on our ever-warming climate and our central role in this process.”
CODE is a new music ensemble in Central Ohio that is dedicated to the promotion, performance, and perception of contemporary concert music with a special interest in collaborating with Ohio composers and performing artists.
Admission is free. Recommended for ages 9 and older. Parking assistance is available through the ParkColumbus app.

This performance is part of the free “New Music at Short North Stage” concert series.

The Johnstone Fund for New Music was founded by Columbus community leaders Jack and Zoe Johnstone in 2008. It supports the continuing growth and vitality of contemporary classical music by funding the creation and performance of new works for a growing audience in Central Ohio.
May 25, 2022

Hypercube performs works by NYU Steinhardt

Date: May 9, 2022
Time: 3:00 pm

Hypercube performs works by students of NYU Steinhardt Music Technology. A culmination of its Spring 2022 residency. Online only!

Monday, May 9 @3pm
Broadcast via Twitch

Works by:
Jude Shih
Cole Reyes
Mengxue Tan
Eugene Markin
Adam Lutz
Kristian de Leon
Nicole Russell
Vicki Nguyen
Maxim Dybal-Denysenko



May 9, 2022